jump to navigation

This is the last blog. 11:23 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Posted by jjb in blogging.
trackback

After today, we will no longer be updating the Hipsters United blog.

HipstersUnited.com will continue to exist as a portal archiving our old posts. New podcasts may be posted intermittently, and the HU Twitter account will remain a voice for the site, but Hipsters United will no longer be committed to coverage of Smashing Pumpkins ‘news’ on a continuous basis. The @PumpkinsNews Twitter account will accordingly be deleted, as will our Facebook page.

At its inception, Hipsters United was not a news operation, and HipstersUnited.com has never branded itself as a “news” website. (The HU.com sidebar has always contained one or more links to “news and talk” from fan forums.) But along the way, HU gradually became a news outlet, became almost exclusively a news outlet. Opinion and analysis never disappeared from our work—all news outlets have underlying biases and frames through which their operators interpret and present the ‘news’—but they did fade from the foreground into the background.

This change from ‘blog’ to news outlet happened because, and as, HU’s original raison d’être resolved itself. We started HU in 2007, and our key motivation was to explore the question: Why is it now [meaning, then] so freaking uncool to be a Smashing Pumpkins fan? Slowly, we developed some obvious-seeming answers. Essentially, we think it was little more than a generational shift: Those about 10 years younger than the bulk of Pumpkins fans had a natural rebellious attitude against that culture, that time, those people. We now see it as flowing out of the contempt commonly held by twentysomethings in or just out of college—possessed of much free time to write for hip music-news sites—for thirtysomethings tied into lame jobs and long relationships. (And I personally do not think it merely coincidental that I, pushing back, was in graduate school and was possessed of some free time to muse about coolness on a music-oriented blog.) More recently, some of these youngster writers are being displaced by younger youngsters, to whom the cohort of Pumpkins fans—now pushing 40—seems less harried, a bit more suave (or, at least, grown-ass), and appealingly nonplussed by The Internet. Think here of the 20-year cycle that seems to hold in cultural nostalgia (1990s/1970s, 2000s/1980s, 2010s/1990s).

So we were figuring out why it was uncool to like the Pumpkins. But as that process took place we didn’t simply write fewer posts. We had found ourselves with an audience! Like many bloggers, we learned that either you feed the beast or you lose it, and who wants to lose the audience? (Okay, wrong question.) We added a podcast, and more writers, and we started to inform readers about ‘news’ rather than to presume they had already seen it. We were serving a community, but not with the exact fare that brought them in the door; as Carroll Quigley would say, HU became less of an instrument and more of an institution.

And then, out there where the demographics shift, the Pumpkins became less uncool. It’s to the point where a snarktastic site such as Gothamist will publish something like this, where Billy Corgan’s interview-ist almost comes out and says: “I never would have conducted this interview in so respectful a manner three years ago.” When the music press is treating the Pumpkins reasonably thoroughly and fairly, the instrument or institution of HU has little cause to exist. So, in a move Quigley might applaud, we are doing away with the part of the institution that burns up a lot of resources. Going forward, you can just find news about the Pumpkins in the same way we always have: Click through the links that are now on the sidebar (especially the “press coverage” link to Google News search), and bookmark them or add them to a personal feed or whatever. You then can talk about that news on the SmashingPumpkins.com fan forum. Who needs HU, huh?

We’ve had fun doing the blog. We are amazed that it received over 40,000 comments in five years. We loved the back and forth with you, and with others (on your behalf, of course!), and we’ll keep that bit going on Twitter. We are still fans of the band, and I expect some of our writers will pursue other fan-oriented projects, e.g., on SPFC.org. We’ll be seeing you around the Pumpkins-obsessed corners of the Internet, probably until, you know, we’re dead. So don’t get too sentimental: Billy would not approve.

Yours, but not always,
HU

Comments

1. Bountiful_Wasteland - 11:30 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I can’t even…. YOU GUYS!!! D’: <3333

2. JCelsius - 11:43 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Damn. I am really going to miss this blog. Thanks for all the work over the years. I know it was a labor of love!

3. Landon Weber-Howell - 11:44 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Sad news.

Such a great site, and a fun read.

There has to be something that exists in the middle ground. Something in between the hate from the den of trolls that Netphoria has become, and everyone drinking the kool-aid on Crestfallen. Such a shame that voice will be lost.

4. Brandi Castillo Vanstrom - 11:46 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Nooooo!!!!!

5. Kiernana - 11:46 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

*sniff, sniff* This really does suck, but I respect your reasons. Thanks a lot, guys and gals.

And thanks to everyone else for the camaraderie.

6. Javier Castanos - 11:48 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

U ruined my weekend with this

7. wemustneverbeapart - 11:48 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

just THANK YOU.

<3

8. crystalline - 11:50 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

But I don’t WANNA go to Crestfallen for my news. Oh the horror… I mean grammar! #singletear

9. gyang333 - 11:54 am // Saturday, September 22, 2012

fuck what that Carroll Quigley person thinks! This is such a loss :(

10. Ron - 12:05 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

This is sad. I check this site daily. Thanks for all your hard work.

11. MustardLies - 12:09 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

:(

12. Angel - 12:24 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thanks for all your work, and the years<3

13. MAKO - 12:26 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

This sucks so much.

14. strangewind - 12:27 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

this is the most depressing SP-related news I’ve read all year. Oh how I will miss the podcasts! Super job over the years guys! Thank You!

15. Voz - 12:38 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Definitely sad! A staple of my daily life over the last three years…

Excellent work and many thanks!

16. nat - 12:50 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

farewell…:(

17. axelease - 12:55 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thank you for all of your enthusiasm and hard work over the past 5 years. I’ve been a daily visitor since around the time Zeitgeist was released in 2007 and to me this is very sad news. I will definitely miss your refreshingly critical (but still fan-centered) analysis of SP news. Though I haven’t always waded into the discussions, I will also miss HU as a hub for a very thoughtful portion of the SP community. Best wishes.

18. Jase - 1:07 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I will def miss you guys, but i honestly didn’t like the change in style recently to mostly reposting twitter headlines. i feel like we lost the true spirit of HU a long time ago, so this is just the ghost finally disappearing. not sad, looking forward, all things change.

19. werideatdusk / Steve - 1:15 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thanks you guys for everything. This has been the best hub the SP community has seen since the 90s, for sure.

Will miss all of your wit and insight. Hope to see some of you over on the o-board.

20. snowtrooper - 1:27 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

First my cat got out of the house, ran away and never came back 2 Weeks ago…now this? Sucks, but thanks a ton for the past few years.

21. shama lama ding dong - 1:28 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

DAMMIT F’ YOU.

22. Weston - 1:30 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

No one postulated that the band is getting better press now because they’re just making better music?

23. Tree_Spirit - 1:31 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I can’t believe it.I might not comment a lot but check this site daily for news.What a sad day…

24. lala - 1:32 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

sad to see you go :( loved this blog since it started. anyway good luck to you all!

25. doug - 1:35 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I think Landon put it best..

Thank you all, for everything you guys and gals have done over the years. You affected my relationship with TSP music immeasureably….

I think we deserve a farewell podcast….that means Jill too. ;)

Respectfully,
~d.

26. King of Gloom - 2:05 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

It isn’t even April Fools? :(

This is a shame… I’ve been visiting this site on a daily basis for a year now, I’m gonna miss this. I guess I’ll have to move to Crestfallen then…

You were the best Pumpkins blog out there, thank you for that!

27. Johnny - 2:06 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Dear HU,
Just a quick thank you for all of the hard work and effort put in here over the years. It is thanks to this site that I developed a relationship with the band beyond just “those guys who make music I like”. The analytical discussion you’ve provided and fostered among your readership has been an incredible boon to our community, and, on a more personal note, as a teen transitioning into young adulthood, this site has provided the backdrop for my finding a critical voice not only in music but also in issues of our broader culture. For this, I am grateful.
I sincerely hope that the podcast continues, and that you all continue to add your insight and thought in our little SP community.
In other news, I now need a new home page….
Thank you,
Johnny (Dusty on the O-board)

28. Johnny - 2:11 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

And if you could do a fan a favor, many of the archival podcasts are defunct and will not run. Could you please try and fix them so they will run? I’ve been wanting to hear your thoughts on the Halloween Columbus show for a long time :)
Thanks again,
Johnny

29. Ram Jam - 2:19 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Randy – I will save you some time. The Halloween show in Columbus was an absolute disaster.

30. Ram Jam - 2:20 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Johnny, sorry for calling you Randy.

31. Daley Middleton - 2:42 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Nice1 folks – all the best

32. chris - 2:54 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

@Johnny: Old podcasts should work again, thanks for letting us know.

33. Kiernana - 3:05 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

lol, first my <3 was made to hurt with the bad news, now the memories and wounds of the Halloween Columbus show have been reopened! Oh, the H.U.manity!!!

34. Just_Erick - 3:10 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Wow, this is kinda sad. I’ve been a fan of HU since 08 (and the anniversary tour) and I want to say that HU has always been the most honest blog of a band I have ever been a part of. I met a lot of really nice people on these boards, some less snarky than others. But we made a pretty neat blogging community.

As for the HU gate keepers- I will correlate them to Smashing Pumpkins albums because its the stupid thing to do… P.S if I get your names wrong, then that makes this look even more idiotic :D

Chris- You were like Gish, you started the podcasts, You always said things in almost a “host” like manner, and lead the conversations with either inputs or just topics. But like Gish, we rarely saw you “live,” though I always wanted you to have a stronger input with many topics.

Jason- You remind me of Machina. You were always so blunt, and honest, equally snarky and was probably HU’s own pitchfork blogger (no offence!). Like Machina, you always had a, “I really don’t give a fuck” attitude, and always came across as intense. Also like Machina, sometimes you would say things on the podcast that I would disagree with (though very entertaining) but then over time I be like, “Oh, he was kinda right all along.”

Jill- You remind me of Machina 2, you had a shorter run than other members but your input was always so eloquent. You had a way of saying things, came from a more “emotional(?)” prospective and at times, almost like opinionated venting. I wish you continued with HU even after that infamous “house” podcast a few years back.

Eric-You remind me of Pisces Iscariot, though you would hardly posted or spoke, when you did it was very insightful. I know the other SP services you have conducted thus you will always be remembered as the awesome b-side that the mainstream will never appreciate.

Susan-Susan you were like the Mellon Collie of the group. You always had this cautious positivity with your comments or posts. You would bring to light the good and bad of the band, but what I always liked about you was, you always had this “fan spoken” manner about the way you come across. Like alot of the concerns, points or highlights you would bring up would be many of the same things that I, or others would have said.

I hope to see ya’ll on the O boards. Farewell and Goodnight!

35. DREVPILE - 3:15 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thank you for everything. Sincerely appreciated. For the future; good luck and have fun. Cheers.

36. crystalline - 3:26 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

So, where’s the next best place to go? Where else do SP fans go for information on current and former band members projects/ other sites that offer this type of community? Just curious as this has been the only place I’ve really frequented.

37. Evelyn - 3:29 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Wow…truly saddened. I’ve loved this site from the beginning and was happy to provide news and videos for all. Thanks for all the info, shit talking, and fun <3

38. Johnny - 3:29 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

@Chris, they do indeed. Thank you kindly, I’ve always been a podcast guy myself.

39. Joe@joe.com - 3:41 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

“it’s like.. When I found my friend dead.. And I was like.. “at least the pumpkins are back!”

Sorta.

Thanks jjb and Susan and whoever else for putting the effort in. Always was a good way to get (relatively) objective pumpkin news.

My favorite HU memory was the thread for the Oceania live stream when we all realized, Suprisingly, that it was actually a pretty decent record.

All the best, see you guys at the reunion. Comedy doesn’t pay, Jay

40. Ben - 3:47 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

So you guys didn’t like the album, huh?

Oh well, I guess no one should be surprised that a bunch of hipsters want to quit their blog once the band became popular again.
Guess I have to find a new site to get my Pumpkins news.

41. Ben - 3:52 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Okay.

42. Myles - 3:52 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

thank you. have enjoyed it. take care

43. infincible - 3:53 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I’m bummed out about this. I can’t listen to “Dross” any more without expecting Chris’ voice to come in. I hope you are able to continue podcasting. Been following the site since the Spirits in the Sky tour and doing so helped renew my enthusiasm for SP. Thanks for the effort over the years.

44. mothergrogan - 4:09 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

You’re gonna be missed.

What left? Monte? :-((((

45. Band Rep - 4:37 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thank you always for supporting the Band and being memorable characters in its great history. HU has always been and always will be, one of a kind. Godspeed.

46. chris - 4:53 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

A few things: Yes, like Jason said in the post, we will be continuing the podcast (and probably will be having a new one within the next month or so considering the upcoming tour). Thanks for all the kind words about the show, and lol @ Just_Erick comparing me to Gish.

I can’t speak for everyone else, but I’ll be doing my SP fan online interaction thing on the o-board unless some other place pops up. My handle there is ChrisHill.

For those who are seeing the band in Canada, Mexico, or the US this Fall, if you’d like to be on the podcast even if just for a short 5 or 10 minute discussion, use the contact form up top. Just know you have a tough act to follow, since the other guest podcasters we’ve had have been uniformly great.

And like the rest of you, I’m awaiting Jason’s full-page ad in the newspaper proclaiming that he wants his blog back, only to be not invited to the reunion :)

47. Avarose - 5:15 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thankyou guys, I’ve always admired your commitment to this site even after getting ditched by billy, and I know how that feels! I will miss checking HU every morning when I wake up. All the very best

48. Mattia Ravanelli (@zave) - 5:16 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

That’s sad. Been a reader since 2007. Thanks for all the hard work, enjoy what’s next. :\

49. drtchoky - 6:13 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I really like Hipster United. Great job guys, i appreciate you work!! Followed you for years and will for sure miss your output. Totally in a pumpkinesque sense. Cheers

50. Ryan - 6:18 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

It’s a shame. This is easily the best Pumpkins site for news and analysis. Maybe you’ll reconsider?

51. Dan Angell - 6:20 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

ah – i’ve checked this pretty much daily since 2008-9 as a good place to pick up anything interesting or any interviews etc and to join in the odd argument or discussion :)

52. Vic - 6:35 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

What!? Between my email, facebook and twitter there was you guys. Thanks for the service.

53. Manu - 6:35 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thanks for your work, guys. This has been the best SP news site.

54. Jerod21 - 6:43 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Really depressing news.
I’ve had HU as my first quick-link in the toolbar for years now, and check it daily.
Your voices and commentary will be missed.

55. Avery - 7:26 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thanks for everything. I’m going to miss the discourse this blog has provided.

56. rat in a cage - 7:28 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I’ve been a reader since the start, in fact (maybe it’s just in my head, so long ago..), I even remember reading Jill’s post on the old SP site back then to stop by this place. I never went back to that official site again. I didn’t need to. You were the community and the news feed, as far as I was concerned. Apparently, I wasn’t alone.

Personally, you guys gave me a lot of context for what was happening back then. I actually never mentioned SP as my favorite band for some time, it wasn’t a lack of pride: I was just sick to death of people’s instant reaction being bout Billy. I was in it for the music not the hipsterdom, I was happy my band was back just writing some songs again.

It was a pleasure to check up on this site for all these years but I’m happy that the podcasts will still continue. And it was pleasure to READ it too, everyone at this site writes elegantly and succinctly. I’m fucking jealous. Good luck, best wishes to all of you.

57. Stacy C. - 8:02 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I miss HU already. Thanks for all the time, energy, effort, and work you all put into this blog over the years. It’s really the only Pumpkins online blog that I bother to read anymore. I guess I’ll just have to hope that I can keep up to speed via Twitter and IRL conversations ;)

58. s0ss - 8:03 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

You guys still butthurt that Billy Corgan publicly dissed you?

59. s0ss - 8:22 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Also you should link Crestfallen. That illiterate fool is the best place to get SP news since it’s basically Billy Corgan’s mouth piece. (In a sexual way).

60. Abid - 8:23 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Very sad to hear this, you guys were my first choice for Pumpkins news. Although you defended the Pumpkins, you never did so without warrant, and even criticized the band and Billy Corgan when he/they deserved it, unlike other fan sites who are totally biased in their favor 100% of the time (coughCRESTFALLENcough (seriously though)). It was a great place to formulate my opinions on the band, and learn things about the Pumpkins that I wouldn’t know otherwise, being only 18 and not having grown up with the band like a lot of you did. Thanks a lot, I’m sure it took a lot of effort on all of your parts.

61. Joe@joe.com - 8:27 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

more than anything, i’ll miss the witty post titles

62. Bob English - 9:09 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Noooooooo :*((((

63. purple pumpkin - 9:17 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thanks for all the hard work guys, I often wondered how you did it sometimes but I’m glad you’re keeping up with the podcasts, the guests have always been fantastic and it’s always been great having you all in the shower with me or sitting in the backseat of my car or even literally putting me to sleep ;-) but I wish you all the best of luck, it was a great way to get into this band like I did in ’07 at 18 and being able to talk some of the ‘elders’ and get their perspective helped codify the myth a little more. That said, it’s a new dawn for pumpkin heads young and old and I see a new excitement and passion that I honestly have never got to experience before so I’m gonna ride the train for “another 4 to 5 years”. Enjoy the Fall tour everyone!!

64. apm - 9:36 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

I’ll miss the home of my 2nd round of Smashing Pumpkins online fandom. Thanks for allowing me to be an occasional contributor. I’m guessing I wouldn’t be spending upwards of $1K (probably) to travel to see a West Coast show next month if not for you guys…so thanks for getting me back into the band as a (pretty much) grown-ass man with discretionary spending money.

65. gsmamz - 10:00 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Bummed out to hear this.

I’d never really thought about it until now, but I’ve pretty much checked out Hipsters United every day, more or less, since you guys started it.

This was the best place to check in on The Smashing Pumpkins. HU was the place I could stomach. Not ass-kissingly positive, and not unreasonably negative. Just reasonable.

It’s very odd and upsetting that the main SP place now is run by a stalker-y Mormon who has zero grasp of the English language, has no idea how to construct basic sentences, and is hopelessly atrocious at spelling…in other words, completely lacking in every quality needed for delivering news via the written/typed word. That Crestfallen site is embarrassing. Does he even know the meaning of the word “crestfallen”, or does he just know it’s a cool sounding title of a Pumpkins song? I can’t subject myself to reading such a sub-par, childlike blog…it’s insulting to anyone’s intelligence to try & read through such incapable writing and improper use of your/you’re, there/their/they’re, etc. Run-on sentences, sentence fragments, constant misspelling…all appearing regularly & routinely, not occasionally. Like…bottom-ot-the-barrell intelligence level. WTF…?

It did occur to me often, while reading Hipsters United, that clearly a lot of time & effort went into it. Even the more jokey articles were still presented in a very professional way. I really appreciated that. Thanks very much for being that go-to, legit, objective Pumpkins site. It was great. I enjoyed it.

<3 <3 <3
.

66. Wainscott - 10:04 pm // Saturday, September 22, 2012

Catch you gangstas at the Zwan reunion. Thanks for the fun.

67. cap7707 - 12:04 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

I’m really psyched to hear any new podcasts from you guys, and whatever else you guys choose to continue doing. I just love the dialogue you guys and gals created, and if your choosing to limit it that cool, but it’s always a joy to hear from HU.

Jason, if you choose to write about something other than the pumpkins, I’d love to read it. You’ve really broadened my mind about the pumpkins and provided a counter narrative that was really interesting.

68. BitterT - 12:12 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Fuck you HU. Seriously. Fuck you. I love you.

69. cap7707 - 12:14 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

(also…) Thanks for helping me understand what it was like to a fan back in the heyday of the band. I didn’t get a chance to experience what it was like to be a fan between 1992-2000 because I’m 25 now. It was really eye opening to hear your anecdotes about bootlegs, tape trading, and all of the way people like you were expressing their relationship to the band before the internet. That is something I can’t know, but I felt like I you were a window into that experience through the oral history in the podcasts. I can’t thank you enough for that.

70. cap7707 - 12:39 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Overall your 3 part podcast on Adore, and what it was like listening to it when it was released, it’s initial reception, and the overall impressions really crystallized for some of the excitement and perplex-ion that comes with every albums re
lease.

71. EW - 1:20 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Thanks for all the years. Looking forward to more tweets/podcasts.
(Hopefully Twitter continues allowing unregistered users to follow feeds)

72. arpeggi - 4:10 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

..I’m so sorry..
but as everyone up here a HUge thank you for all you have done with your blog
I always felt you were giving voice to my SP thoughts like no one else, so thank you again! (and looking forward new podcasts :)

73. Eric B - 4:43 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

This is really sad for me and I was just enjoying talking with fellow fans on here. I’m really going to miss this blog. Like someone else said I wish you would reconsider. If not I hope to see everyone on the o board. Its been fun HU!

74. sunky - 7:50 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Shame to hear, but can understand … best of luck HU team.

75. Jon - 9:29 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

This is my favorite blog. So sad to see it go. I really think you guys did a great job of staying as middle of the road as possible over the years, which was always the appeal to me. Thank you everyone involved! I love HU!

76. Martin J Rios - 9:34 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

This is so unfortunate, I will probably still pull your site up everyday out of habit :(

77. Saturnineage - 10:23 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Definitely going to miss this blog. I’m glad that there will still be some podcasts, as that was my favorite part of it all.

Thanks for everything, and especially for being a real voice about the band, and not some suck up/or asshat conversely.

78. Jeff Savage - 10:41 am // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Though I never posted a comment, I have been reading this blog for years and especially have enjoyed reading the comments from fans like myself.

The Pumpkins have a polarizing nature, and just for example, with myself being 35, when I announced my enthusiasm and utter excitement to be seeing them in Austin this Thursday to my coworkers, I was met with comments like “Meh, I used to like them “back in the day” or “That sucks, man. Sorry” to “OMG I’ve always wanted to see them!” or “Jealous!” The latter being from people around my own age.

It’s tough to relate to people about Oceania. Most of my friends don’t know, or care, that this album is so great. But when ALOT of people are only exposed to the group via TV and have seen one or both of the last 2 Tonite Show appearances, I don’t blame them for not caring any more. Not inspiring song selections to make people jump up and down…

But still, and probably always, I will be a fan. Thank you for the years of effort, it did not go unnoticed, and was much appreciated. I felt like I belonged to a special club, even though I never participated.

What I have learned from here is that there is a snarky guy named Adam who’s comments were always enjoyable, and there’s a guy named Monte who is like #1 fan who people either love or hate. Much like the Pumpkins themselves! Ha.

Thanks again, best wishes, and good luck in your future endeavors.

79. HansBP - 1:06 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Oh man, not again! It’s like when I followed this Bloc Party blog and the blogger called it quits (http://blogparty.blocparty.net/). I’ve been following HU I think since.. the beginning of Teargarden, and so for more than 2 years I’ve been checking this great blog (almost) daily. (And during that time, The Smashing Pumpkins replaced Bloc Party as my favorite band.) You guys always had the best info and the most insightful posts and comments, thanks for everything! Like Jeff Savage above me, “I felt like I belonged to a special club”. Seriously, this is a great community, thanks everyone. Does it really have to end? I understand you guys no longer want to put all this time and effort into the site, but what if the original Hipsters United is moved under another tab (next to ‘About’) and the new homepage becomes a place where current visitors of the site who want to contribute can add blog posts? Links to news items and articles are enough to get a lot of discussion started here, and anyone can link to a website. That way the end of Hipsters United doesn’t mean the end of this great community :) (Because seriously, I don’t know where else to go!) Whatever you decide though, no hard feelings, you guys are amazing. Thanks again!

80. ted_crisp - 6:00 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Damn, you’re really going to bail and leave us with nought but a pile of shit such as Crestfallen? All my pumpkins news has to come from an illiterate mormon with a pedo-stache? ….You maniacs. you blew it up. Damn you…. *tears* Damn you all to hell…

(but you know, thanks for the years of info, it was a great blog. cheers)

81. BigAl6ft6 - 6:56 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Somewhere, Billy is cackling and rubbing his hands as his master plan to turn Monte into an official mouthpiece for Smashing Pumpkins news has come to fruition. Billy plays the long con.

82. crystalline - 6:56 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Feeling like an SP refugee.

83. Jonk - 9:11 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Do you and Mommy still love us? Is it my fault?

84. g-fresh33 - 9:17 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Sad news….. Been following you guy’s since 2007….. Thanks for all the SP news over the years.!!!

85. sidekickreviews - 9:19 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

You will be missed, glad your’re keeping the podcasts going.

86. zanzabar - 9:24 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

lame

87. Jonk - 9:28 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

Thanks for everything guys. Susan if you’re reading this I need my taxes done I’m so laaaate

88. Zero - 11:16 pm // Sunday, September 23, 2012

THANK YOU

89. Is he one? - 7:47 am // Monday, September 24, 2012

Sad news. But understandable. Thanks you all for the great work and for all the time and passion you put on the site.

Special thanks and greetings to my favorite blogger (No offense all the others). Susan, I love you! ;)

90. zwe (@duyn9uyen) - 10:57 am // Monday, September 24, 2012

I can’t believe you are leaving! I love this site and I check it daily! But best of luck to all of you guys. I will definitely miss the pod casts :(

91. Deafchild - 11:33 am // Monday, September 24, 2012

Deafchild out. Had to post one more time.

92. zwe (@duyn9uyen) - 11:59 am // Monday, September 24, 2012

Wait…I just read “New podcasts may be posted intermittently.” yay!

93. taco beef pants - 3:05 pm // Monday, September 24, 2012

i hate you for doing this to me.

94. SchuffleMode - 5:43 pm // Monday, September 24, 2012

So sorry to see you go! You’ve been my primary source for SP news since the band reunited. I regarded blog as the new center for the AMSP community, having a familiar audience and sources. I could count on you to cut through the b.s. and tell us the real deal with the nostalgic tone of the newsgroup; “biased,” perhaps, but that’s what gave HU its voice. You will be missed as SP continues writing, touring, and reissuing (hopefully). Thank you and best wishes! Back to lurking, as I did on usenet…

95. JENN - 7:45 pm // Monday, September 24, 2012

Its a shame- everything else sucks.

96. the guy - 8:48 pm // Monday, September 24, 2012

good job guys

97. Phillip - 12:31 am // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Pulled this site up knowing nothing would be on it … One of my go to websites, thanks !

98. gsmamz - 1:49 am // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Hipsters Re-united….please, someday. :)

99. Kiernana - 8:54 am // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I heard that somebody on a Pavement blog is calling HU’s reason for (mostly) shutting down into question, stating it’s actually because they can’t keep fighting the Britney blogs of the world.

One day we’ll type ‘hello’ and wish we’d never typed ‘goodbye’…

100. jjb - 11:18 am // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

@Kiernana: Nice try ;)

101. apm - 12:19 pm // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Britney? You mean the middle-aged X-Factor judge? Not sure why you even bring her up.

;)

102. Kiernana - 1:18 pm // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

@jjb: thanks, the horrible allusions couldn’t be helped! :,-(

@apm: right?! XD

103. themadcaplaughs - 4:46 pm // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I started reading the blog during the Smashing Pumpkins tour of the U.S. in fall 2007. It’s been daily reading since then. Although I agree news might have become more prominent in the site, I never felt like you lost your ability to give a decent opinion. You knew when to defend Billy and give him credit, and when to call him out for stupid things he did or said. We will miss that balance in the SP world now that there is really only one site left.

104. Andy - 6:16 pm // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I don’t get it. Why quit? Did somebody sue you?

105. Jon - 7:51 pm // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I don’t want to go to Crestfallen. No one does.

106. purple pumpkin - 8:31 pm // Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Seriously, you guys are douchebags and don’t quite understand what this site was for many of us, still find your excuses pretty lousy but thanks for the hard work you all put into it. I remember coming in like 20 podcasts behind and going back to listen to them all for about a week straight and I honestly feel I wouldn’t be as big of a fan if not for you guys. Farewell and best of luck.

rC: Captcha Later

107. Halo - 12:26 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

I am with purple pumpkin on this one, your reasons for shutting this blog down are absurd. Now more than ever, particularly with other long-time sites going under, the SP community needed another voice besides Monte “cockface” LDS. The little fuck acts like a youth Nazi on the forums and on twitter and you guys decide to throw the towel in? HU offered an alternative space were people gathered to discuss, and sustained a discussion, on a number of interesting subjects that were never even dared broach on the official forums. HU played an integral role for those who wanted an alternative to Netphoria or the official forum. Billy “the libertarian” Corgan should have respect for free speech and what that means to the community, whether he likes the comments or not, it would be “unconstitutional” to do otherwise. It is that dialogue that will be truly missed. Anyone could post, and they did not need a fucking twitter handle or Facebook page, or a lengthy signup to do so. Why not cede control of the blog to someone else? Other long-time fan sites such as SPFC and Infinite Pictures are doing well enough under their new web masters. Regardless, I did not always agree with your stance on things but I always appreciated that you guys were around. Cheers.

108. Eric B - 1:17 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Hey, since HU is ending I thought I would add this. Well those that were on the oboard around 2001 or 2000 will get a little kick out of this. Does anyone remember a person who posted under the name Angeles on the oboard? He posted there for a while and then made this lengthy post about how he/or she thought the Machina Mystery was all real. Some freaky shit happened after he posted that too. Like the moderator of that site I think it was Tigershorty said “looks like we’ve been caught” then posted supposed SP tour dates. Then meyham ensued on the SP message board. It was sweet! Those posts had to be the most crazy funny and down right ridiculous I have seen on any site. Could some one post a link to it? That was some cool shit. Sorry you have to go HU but like others are saying you really don’t have to.

109. Jonk - 1:50 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

I for one welcome our new insect overlords

110. Andrew F. - 2:14 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Man. This blows. You were the best source for SP news. Gonna miss this site very, very much.

111. zwe (@duyn9uyen) - 7:52 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Just checking to see if you guys changed your mind.

112. dilbert - 7:53 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

machina mystery?

113. susan - 10:02 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Thanks everyone for your wonderful comments. They really mean a lot. Working with this blog has meant so much.

I am sad about the end of HU in many ways, but it is just time to move on to other projects. I’m working on some projects over at SPFC that I think (hope!) fans will find exciting. I’m also hoping to be more active on the oboard and maybe look at what other entrepreneurial SP-fandom opportunities I can come up with to work on. Oh, and looking forward to continuing podcasting.

In the next few weeks, we’re going to be figuring out what will become of the HU website – it will be obviously contain all our archived posts, and the new podcasts, but we’d like to think about how it might serve as a hub/portal for the community… we haven’t really worked it out yet, and no promises about what we’ll actually be able to accomplish… but we’re thinking thoughts about it, at least. :)

114. jjb - 10:10 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

@everyone – Please do not interpret Susan’s remarks about HU’s future as a “hub/portal” to mean HU might become a discussion forum. Kthx, mgmt

115. jjb - 10:16 am // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

@halo: SPFC has the same webmaster today it has always had. Infinite Pictures is closed.

116. Andy - 12:36 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

So what, did you guys have a fight? This whole thing doesn’t make sense. How hard is it to have one of you throw up a post every few days and then let people comment on it. Doesn’t sound like a big deal to me, especially if you spread the work out among more than one person. You’ve got a decently healthy amount of traffic here too. Seems like the site should pay for itself.

This smells like some sort of emotional decision to me. Maybe based on an internal conflict?

117. pickles & peanut butter & cottage cheese & oatmeal & bananas & grapefruit juice & crackers - 12:49 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

i heard that reason this blog is ending is one of the writers knocked up another writer and the two are running off to have hipster babies.

118. Halo - 1:37 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

@jjb
Infinite Pictures gave their material over to By Starlight to continue the spirit behind the site, given that they wanted to shut down. I thought the original master running SPFC moved on. Was it not Agnew who started up the site? I did not think he was still around. I thought he had a number of other people doing the majority of updates now, like Davin and Susan.

119. Kiernana - 2:45 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Perhaps an enterprising Pumpkinhead here will create a new blog…
That great hypothetical person ought to post the link to our new haven in this thread, unless it closes before they get the chance…

120. your_rose_in_bloom - 2:54 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

So sad :(
Where di I get my news from, now???

121. skullivan - 5:12 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Wait, this blog wasn’t about Radiohead after all??

HU will be missed. My experience as a fan over the last 4-5 years has been filtered almost exclusively through this site; it’s hard to imagine that I’ll keep up with the band to the same degree without it. Job well done guys and gals, I feel pretty confident there has never been another site quite like HU, just as there’s no other band quite like the Pumpkins.

-Kevin S.

122. Steven - 6:54 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

I basically have 2 main interests/hobbies (though SP is more than a hobby to me), both of which had forums that I visited several times a day for the past 3 or so years. The other website was run independently from the owners of the ‘property’ and they recently started partnering together. Posts started getting censored, threads deleted, and the news aspect of the site became worthless to me. So about a month ago, that site died to me.

I write that because I respect the creators of this blog for sticking to their principles and giving an objective opinion of the happenings in the SP world. I don’t know why, but I’m just not interested in the O-board, Netphoria (for obvious reasons), or Crestfallen (not that they even allow conversation).

So now I really have nowhere to go with either of my two main interests. Very sad day.

123. Aaron - 10:42 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

This sucks. HU was the only site I came to anymore for SP news and info. You will be greatly missed by the SP community. Thanks for your dedication and great work over the years.

124. gods joke please check out a pumpkin influenced band at www.reverbnation.com/godsjoke - 11:29 pm // Wednesday, September 26, 2012

i always checked this site along with my email as a part of my daily routine. rip. check out my band as a pick me up http://www.reverbnation.com/open_graph/song/14564272

125. Jonk - 1:55 am // Thursday, September 27, 2012

I’m sure part of it is having to do news you have to check a whole lot of different nooks and crannies around the interwebs and feel a constant pressure to report stuff- and what should go reported and what shouldn’t. I’m sure after the big hoopla over the release of Oceania and all the countless PR and interviews have probably taken their toll.
Looking forward to what is next

- Jonk

http://www.twitter.com/jonathankrukoff

126. name - 6:23 am // Thursday, September 27, 2012

:(

I only have two words for this.

would of.

127. Soltmen - 10:01 am // Thursday, September 27, 2012

Sad news indeed. I did enjoy this site. The comments were usually quit entertaining. Thanks to Susan for her well crafted post and everyone @ HU

See you at the shows

Soltmen

128. zwe (@duyn9uyen) - 11:56 am // Thursday, September 27, 2012

Why don’t you do a postcast about the state of HU?

129. jewboy+1 - 10:47 am // Friday, September 28, 2012

Yeahhhhhhhhh!!

130. Andrew - 8:44 pm // Friday, September 28, 2012

Thanks for all of your efforts over the years! I have enjoyed the Blog. Don’t know how I’ll keep up on the Pumpkins now…

131. zwe (@duyn9uyen) - 4:21 pm // Saturday, September 29, 2012

Crap. Now I can’t get dancing in heaven out of my head.

132. Matt - 10:16 pm // Saturday, September 29, 2012

Dam – Ive been visiting your site for a few years now – good luck & keep the Podcasts comin if you can!!! if anyone wants some up to date info on the Pumpkins and original source videos, interviews & photos from the Oceania Tour – check out OZPHORIA

Thanks HU, for giving us a quality Pumpkins site for so long….

133. Garrett Ward - 5:15 am // Sunday, September 30, 2012

a farewell pod cast maybe??? :( this is so sad

134. gsmamz - 2:53 am // Monday, October 1, 2012

Please come back
Please come back
Pale horse

135. the other you. - 9:13 am // Monday, October 1, 2012

without this site how am i gonna find out that the vancouver show has been cancelled? how?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

