jump to navigation

Once-disappointed Pumpkins fans “Blissed” with one-track flexidisc 10:32 pm // Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Posted by susan in customer service, news, releases.
trackback

For some Smashing Pumpkins fans disappointed by the handling of their orders for the Gish and Siamese Dream reissues last year, a measure of recompense is arriving in the form of a limited-edition flexidisc created by the band.

Fans who ordered physical formats of either reissue through SmashingPumpkins.com did not receive their orders, in many cases, until three or four weeks after the November 29 release date. At the time, a representative for Pumpkins vendor Topspin Media claimed that his company “had absolutely no control over these delays” and that “not enough were manufactured,” passing the buck to BandMerch, a company that was contracted to do the order fulfillment.

Complaints were numerous, and on December 8 an administrator of the official Smashing Pumpkins messageboard posted a note from the Smashing Pumpkins Record Club promising a special gift to those fans who had preordered before November 29. A little over a week ago, an email was sent out with instructions on how to request the free flexidisc. Shipments of the disc began this week, and a few fans have already received theirs.

The record contains one track: “Blissed”, a previously unreleased song that missed the cut for the reissues but does come across like a Gish-era composition. The flexidisc itself is a translucent orange in color and is embellished with a hand-drawn Billy Corgan design in silver foil. Though hard to read, the design contains the song title printed at bottom left beside an abstract flowery design. The disc was produced by Pirates Press, a boutique music media company based in San Francisco. Matt Jones of Pirates Press told Crestfallen.com that 5,000 copies were pressed.

Comments

1. colquittbrett - 10:47 pm // Wednesday, May 2, 2012

That’s… kind of astoundingly amazing.

2. themadcaplaughs - 11:11 pm // Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Very happy to be getting mine in the mail, and I will consider this compensation for the atrocious way this was handled last year, but you can be assured I will never be ordering from the Smashing Pumpkins’ site again. I have already ordered my copy of Oceania off Amazon. No excuse for reissues of two platinum albums not being ready to get shipped ASAP.

3. b-town - 1:00 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

i love that i’m getting a free gift that looks to be very collectible but … uh, i can’t listen to it. what’s the point of having something i can’t hear in some form?

4. Zave - 3:39 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

What a pain in the ass… go buy a record player or sell it on eBay. I’m more than willing to take that felxidisc burden off your shoulders.

(The point is that you have not payed for the flexidisc, they’re trying to give out something valuable and peculiar)

5. Kiernana - 4:58 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

And now Topspin is handling preorders for the new Sigur Rós album via their official site. NNOOOOOOOOOOO!

Hope to get my flexi in the mail today. Looks purrdy. ;-)

6. DyingHorseBlues - 5:34 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

Sell it on ebay, I’d easily pay $200 for that thing.

7. JENN - 6:00 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

Its awesome- but I didn’t save my order number from back in NOVEMBER! So I looked it up on my credit card- no #. I copied and pasted part of the receipt- I hope it was enough. Yes, I am waiting. . . .

8. Spumkins33 - 8:18 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

I wish the Smashing Pumpkins would disappoint ME!

9. merp - 9:09 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

I want one. :(

Yo b-town! I’ll take it off your hands. I can listen to it! :)

10. Misery - 10:12 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

@Jenn
Have you checked your email? I just searched my inbox for ‘smashing’ and one of the emails was from when I ordered it last year, order # was in the email

11. lala - 10:15 am // Thursday, May 3, 2012

so any rips of Blissed out there?

12. Joe - 12:39 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

Got mine in the mail today, it’s pretty cool. I don’t have a record player so I’ll most likely just hang on to it for the time being.

13. b-town - 12:53 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

great idea, jackasses. just because i think it’s incredibly inconvenient format i think i will give away or sell my gift … you know the gift i just said that i LOVE that i am receiving. nowhere in my message does it say that i don’t want it. it only points out that i can’t listen to it and now i have to hope someone rips it so i can pirate the very thing i own.

14. b-town - 12:55 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

also … “go buy a record player”? fuck you. i don’t even own a stereo right now. i have a couple of mp3 players and a computer. i’m not going to invest in a stereo and media player just to listen to 1 song.

15. apm - 1:26 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

I’m just thrilled that the “customer service” tag now has two posts! Woohoo!

16. offthebeatentrailpdx - 1:41 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

B-Town, did you ever consider that somebody will rip it and then you can download it? Don’t be so whiny. If you really don’t want it, somebody will gladly buy yours for more than you paid for it.

17. lala - 1:52 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

@b-town chillax. have some soot and stars

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tnVL1n0Nkc

18. werideatdusk - 1:53 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

This is a great thing the band did. It would be nice if people remembered things like this, the (exhaustive and exceptionally well put together) reissues, the consistent advocacy for charity, and so on when discussing what a self-involved asshole they think Corgan is.

19. Kiernana - 2:57 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

^^ great point ^^

I know mine came today. Stoked to get home and see it.

20. JENN - 3:03 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

YEAH! It arrived!!

21. snowy - 3:44 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

The song is amazing, by the way. So glad to own this.

22. b-town - 4:10 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

yea. no shit. someone will rip it. again: i shouldn’t have to pirate something i own.

again not saying i don’t want it. the point is i want it so much and i can’t even use what it is. if he wanted to release an unreleased song to us he could have done it in a more common format. or he could have just signed a poster. NOT give me a song i have to wait until someone rips it and hope they have their record player at the right settings. or am i the only person who had to download machina 2 more than once because of the songs being slightly out of tune due to poor record players?

this isn’t exactly looking a gift horse in the mouth. it’s more like i’ve been given a really nice and valuable horse carriage even though most people own cars and don’t own horses. now what the hell am i supposed to do with this? guess i’ll wait until someone rides by with a
horse.

also, @lala thanks but no thanks.

23. snowtrooper - 4:15 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

go cry somewhere else.
i love you.

24. DyingHorseBlues - 5:22 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

Man, what a whiny little shit. Go be ungrateful somewhere else.

25. DyingHorseBlues - 5:29 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

How could any self respecting music fan NOT own a record player? Considering most artists have vinyl exclusives and specials these days. It was a safe assumption for Billy to issue this, I bet he figured that if someone was rabid enough to buy expensive reissues with remastered tracks, they aren’t the iTune’s single-buying passive music listener, and would therefore have a record player.

Seriously B-Town, if you don’t want to spend a measly $100 for a nice USB turntable, you could go to your local mom-n-pop record shop and they could have a few old systems for like, ten bucks. Hell, the FYEs have used players for ten bucks.

26. xforewarnedx - 6:23 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

All this talk, still no rip.

27. xforewarnedx - 6:27 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

Stop sitting at your computer, go plug it into your record player with a cable you get at radio shack or whatever, dl a free recording program, rip that record you have there, save, it, upload it to a site, let us sing your praises. It’s that easy.

28. JCelsius - 6:31 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

After losing my record player and still having some classics on vinyl (Flash Gordon Soundtrack, SP Disarm EP) I went on craigslist and found a record player for 30 bucks. It’s not some luxury item. At this point, it’s like a VCR.

29. CorganBalls - 6:42 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

30. xforewarnedx - 7:16 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

http://www.mediafire.com/?53vxd114usc6gvc

Here is a rip from Netphoria. Good job people. Thanks.

31. me - 7:36 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

best song he’s put out since … superchrist

32. b-town - 8:37 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

yea i may be ungrateful but i’m not an elitist twat. releasing your music in formats that are obsolete is fucking foolish. thanks for the collectible. i guess it’ll collect dust while i listen to mp3s because i’m not living in some rose-tinted hipster world where everyone owns working quality record players … eat shit, cunts. no wonder BC hates this fucking website and works with that warped mormon instead.

33. Sad Navigator - 9:29 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

@b-town, you seem to have a lot of rage? Are you perhaps some manner of rodent…in a cage?

34. Johnny - 9:43 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

@Sad Navigator, He’s upset because JIm Carrey still has “all the fucking cheese”.

35. gsmamz - 10:39 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

Holy crap, this thread. Yikes.

36. M&M - 11:32 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

Got me a record player but no flexidisc =|

37. Thomas - 11:51 pm // Thursday, May 3, 2012

I have not received my copy of the flexidisc yet but I’m more than willing to sell it after I rip it, I’ve got a record player and don’t really give a shit about the ‘collectable’ angle here, I just want the music.

38. Zave - 3:26 am // Friday, May 4, 2012

“Fuck you Billy Corgan! I wanted so hard to listen to your music but I don’t even have a stereo!”. Such a cruel world out there, isn’t it?

39. my cubed wang - 8:58 am // Friday, May 4, 2012

why does jim carrey have all the cheese?

40. David - 9:07 am // Friday, May 4, 2012

“I GOT A FREE RECORD BUT CANT PLAY IT. FUCK IT ALL” = White People Problems

41. Kiernana - 9:39 am // Friday, May 4, 2012

@my cubed wang: http://youtu.be/C8cZciumKZ8

42. Kromdar - 1:17 am // Saturday, May 5, 2012

Of course I chose to order the box sets through Amazon. :p

43. Spag - 3:55 am // Saturday, May 5, 2012

Thanks for ripping. Haven’t received my copy yet. Sounds nice.

44. Johnny - 2:27 pm // Saturday, May 5, 2012

Got mine yesterday. They’re still kicking around.

45. Just_Erick - 2:12 am // Sunday, May 6, 2012

Just got mine, holy hell. This song is amazing.

46. stratoholic - 5:38 pm // Sunday, May 13, 2012

i agree with b-town… eff vinyl and the elitist hipster crap that goes along with it.

47. stratoholic - 5:40 pm // Sunday, May 13, 2012

also, this song isn’t that great anyway. sorry. get some higher standards.

48. merp - 4:36 pm // Monday, May 14, 2012

@stratoholic. Elitist? That’s hilarious. It always cracks me up when people accuse vinyl of being elitist. It’s such a joke. It’s a superior format in my opinion.Plus I love what I discover at used record shops. I also enjoy the grand scale of the artwork and the warm sound. Sounds like someone is just a cranky pants. :)

49. Delvinisntic - 9:52 pm // Monday, May 14, 2012

Well my latte is more liberal than yours

50. M_Lapin - 1:53 pm // Wednesday, May 16, 2012

still waiting for mine… is anyone else still waiting?

51. drown33 - 9:29 pm // Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Yep, I’m still waiting. My order status says ‘acknowledged.’

52. stratoholic - 4:10 pm // Sunday, May 20, 2012

sorry merp, i’ll take a CD over vinyl any day. and yes elitist… “oh look at me i shop in used record stores because i’m so cool. look at my vintage shirt i just got for the thrift store…” you probably wear skinny jeans too. am i close? i can’t stand the fact that people think they are cool and trendy because they are wearing clothes and using technology that my parents used in the 60′s and 70′s.

53. merp - 12:30 pm // Monday, May 21, 2012

Sorry Stratoholic. No skinny jeans here. And you’re no where close. Keep your CD, and I’ll stick with my format of preference. Just means more for me and more for you of what we like.

BTW, love this song. It’s such a beautiful product. The glittery print it cool as hell.

54. bivouac - 3:16 am // Tuesday, May 22, 2012

I got my flexi-disc and was wowed to find out we got such a rare item for the inconvenience, which to me, didn’t matter to me at all – I pre-ordered simply to remember to acquire the items. So I didn’t get it X weeks before everyone else. The delay meant absolutely nothing to me, and that whole attitude was lame to me even in the early 90s as a teenager. I just wanted to get my hands on as much music as possible — the “I heard it first crowd” was embarrassing then. Also, I remember a couple months ago the fan club sent out an exclusive mp3 for those who pre-ordered, which to me sounded like a clip of Corgan singing in the shower. Before the news of the flexi disc, I assumed that was the “free gift from the archives”.

So, sincere gratitude, and a “you didn’t have to but thanks a ton”, the fans who collect will treasure something like this. I honestly felt bad/kinda embarrassed over the flak he got over this because if a band is trying to do big things with so much less of the big business that was behind it, a little lag isn’t too much to handle.

This is obviously geared for people who enjoy collecting physical products, and we’re lucky that the quality is up there with boxsets and rarities even for the seen-it-all fans.

If you’re not into collecting, Strat, why are you bitching on a news article about a flexi-disc? The Daughter flexi was any collector’s dream, and I just casually picked up things on the way. There is nothing trendy about this..the majority of this stuff is aquired anonymously online — the surviving record shops aren’t likely to have rare Pumpkins items, and the shops who do are rare themselves. Looking cool? About 3 people have seen my SP collection in all these years, and that’s only because I live(d) with them at the time. Kinda hard to “look cool” with something we can’t drag around with us to make all the white earbuds around us jealous. When someone rips it, throw it on your CDr and call it good, if that’s all that matters to you that should satisfy you. That’s how I am with 98% of all of the other music I enjoy but don’t collect. We live in a time where we have all the options in the world, and for the most part free for the taking if you want it, and it’s STILL a griping matter. Insane. The hipsters went that-a-way.

55. bivouac - 3:21 am // Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Also – this is the first time I *didn’t* pre-order something from Amazon and got it direct. What other band would go out of their way to custom make a rarity like that for an inconvenience? Anywhere else, the most you get out of a service glitch is being able to leave a bad review.

56. merp - 10:45 am // Tuesday, May 22, 2012

@bivouac
Bravo. Couldn’t have said it any better myself. :)


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

