jump to navigation

Bob Ludwig remasters ‘Gish’ 12:57 am // Friday, August 5, 2011

Posted by susan in gish, news.
trackback

Acclaimed mastering engineer Bob Ludwig of Gateway Mastering has finished work on an impending reissue of the Smashing Pumpkins album Gish, part of that band’s archives project. Ludwig has previously worked with, well, uh, everyone.

Here’s a bit of an interview from 2003 in which Ludwig talks shop:

MusicTAP: What is the usual process from when Gateway is contacted for a project to the final release?

Bob Ludwig: Someone calls us and schedules a day I can work on their record. Either I do it alone, or the producer and sometimes, artists attend. The day arrives, I listen to their raw tape and hear in my head how I think it could sound. I turn the knobs on the right gear to make it sound like I hear it in my head. I master it, discuss if any remixing needs to be done and do any further editing that needs to be done. When the artist, producer, A&R person and the manager all agree I have gotten as much musicality out of their original master tape as possible, the approved master is copied to the appropriate medium desired by the plant (PCM 1630, exabyte DDP tape, Pre-master CD-R, or Yellow Book CD-ROM). The actual parts going to the plant are quality controlled from top to bottom by one of my engineers, usually with headphones to catch problems one can’t hear in speakers, and notes are made of any abnormal sounds that are in fact approved.

Comments

1. gsmamz - 10:44 am // Friday, August 5, 2011

“…I turn the knobs on the right gear…I master it.”

Great insight, Bob.

2. Cain - 11:16 am // Friday, August 5, 2011

Off topic slightly but I like how very, very soon in Billys mind is no where close to very soon.

3. snowtrooper - 2:36 pm // Friday, August 5, 2011

its actually going to be any minute now so lay off you hater.

4. Adam - 4:45 pm // Friday, August 5, 2011

i’ve met this guy on a few occasions and have been to his studio.. very nice man, and insane studio! cool that he’s working on these records.

5. gsmamz - 4:57 pm // Friday, August 5, 2011

Next time you pop in there, ask him to please not crush/brickwall the life out of these remasters. :)

6. susan - 5:07 pm // Friday, August 5, 2011

While I was researching for this post last night, I found this YouTube video of Bob which I found really interesting:

7. Adam - 5:28 pm // Friday, August 5, 2011

right because it’s easy to tell the difference on a youtube video.

but ludwig is himself guilt of making some records too loud/clip.

8. colquittbrett - 7:19 pm // Friday, August 5, 2011

That video is like going to the goddamn optometrist.

9. afk - 4:01 am // Saturday, August 6, 2011

oh shit, if the reissue is a victim of the loudness war…

10. rapapapa - 7:45 am // Saturday, August 6, 2011

Adam wrote
”i’ve met this guy on a few occasions and have been to his studio.. very nice man, and insane studio! cool that he’s working on these records.”

so please. CALM DOWN

11. Here is why - 1:50 pm // Saturday, August 6, 2011

@rapapapa +1 this time.

12. Adam - 2:50 pm // Saturday, August 6, 2011

^^^stop posting under different names you fuck wad.

13. jcoriha - 4:30 pm // Saturday, August 6, 2011

Probably my favorite mastering engineer.

14. rapapapa - 4:38 pm // Saturday, August 6, 2011

Here is why
I’m not a youtube video which can be rated or something.. but, thanks, I guess.. :D

Adam
what? I wrote that seriously, without any irony shit. I respect your opinion more than most of other people here. And I think you know why. That’s why I wasn’t joking.

15. rapapapa - 4:39 pm // Saturday, August 6, 2011

if you don’t know why, then I’ll write why. You are not BC ass licker. Most people here – are.

16. Adam - 5:59 pm // Saturday, August 6, 2011

@rapapapa I was speaking to here is why.. he was +1 you because he thought you were being sarcastic. he’s one guy who posts under multiple names and gets upset every time i say something which is mostly irrelevant to his life. but he choses to get bothered by it.

17. James - 7:18 pm // Thursday, October 6, 2011

Bob Ludwig is a hypocrite. He demastered Nevermind and turned into an abomination of clipping and noise.

18. ‘Pisces Iscariot’ reissue bonus disc mastered by Howie Weinberg « Hipsters United - 1:22 pm // Wednesday, March 7, 2012

[...] involvement with the Pumpkins’ reissue project is a new development, however; the Gish and Siamese Dream reissues, as well as the band’s new album Oceania, were instead mastered by [...]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

