jump to navigation

HU Podcast #76: The Big Announcement 1:43 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

Posted by chris in gish, pisces iscariot, podcast, siamese dream, teargarden by kaleidyscope.
trackback

Billy’s recent announcement on the future of Teargarden and the exciting news about the reissues and opening of the archives spurred us to record a rare mid-week podcast.  Eric joins us again from Japan to sift through the possibilities for Gish, Siamese Dream, and Pisces Iscariot bonus material, as we save discussion of the other reissues for future shows.

Listen to the whole show (52:06)



(download)(iTunes)

Panelists
-Chris, Susan, and Eric

Topics
-Owata is tabbed as the final single-release Teargarden song, at least for the foreseeable future.  Is this a good choice? (4:01)


-The next Teargarden release after Owata will be an approximately 10-song album within an album called Oceania, surprisingly slated for a September 1st date.  Is 4 months long enough to create and release an album?  How will it be distributed?  Is there a chance we’ll never go back to the one-song-at-a-time format? (10:24)


-All of the old album are being reissued with bonus material, so we take a look at Gish, Siamese Dream, and Pisces Iscariot, which are slated for a 2011 release.  What will the bonus tracks be?  So many b-sides from these eras are already on Pisces Iscariot, will they be pushed back into their respective eras?  Would fans have the right to be upset if the bonus material is already available in the trading community?  Will Billy include songs sung by other band members?  (32:17)


Song of the Week
-Try to Try, Madison, WI (July 16th, 1990)

Comments

1. exclaimed - 2:13 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

The MusicRadar interview implied that they might go back to single releases after Oceania.

2. JENN - 4:47 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

The fact that there are so few comments after 4 hours only speaks to the lack luster excitement. Being a Pumpkin fan is a very schizophrenic experience. Too much innuendo and foreplay, not enough climax. I feel I’m being played.
Reissues- not interested, been there/done that. Will I be inclined to by them due to unreleased music entrapment? Maybe.
New songs that reference his current lifestyle and girlfriend, whatever. Not interested in the “happy happy, look how sunny it is here in California and I’m so in love with a prepubescent child”.
Hey Billy, know why I love the sad stuff? Because the sound of your voice speaks to compassion and understanding of the human spirit- not spangling in her body. If we want bubble gum, there’s a lot of Brittany’s out there.

3. Chemtrails - 4:59 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

^

4. Ginger Shackleton - 6:02 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

In No uncertain terms- piss off.
I’m excited by everything, if you’re not, you’re no pumpkins fan.

5. Chemtrails - 6:26 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

lol

6. Rerun - 6:53 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

I think that’s great news!
I’m really looking forward to the new album!

As the ten songs are apparently (as mentioned in the video) already written, four months should be enough time to finish the recordings.
I hope that the new members (particularly Jeff) are able to be more involved in the process than just being studio musicians.

7. JENN - 7:31 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

@Ginger
Fan since ’89- grow a pair and speak your mind.

8. BigAl6ft6 - 7:55 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

Soothe was played live, yo. ends with Billy saying “thanks for talking through my song”.

Also: “Spangling in her body” = gold.

9. KingChris - 7:59 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

Will James & Darcy assist with the reissues? Hmmm……

10. gyang333 - 8:12 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

@kingchris James can design the fashion outfits to coincide with the rerelease while Darcy can be in charge of distribution within the correctional system.

11. chris - 8:23 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

@BigAl6ft6: It was actually Whir that I said hadn’t been played live.

12. JCelsius - 10:06 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

@JENN

Perhaps you’re looking at the wrong article for comments. If you would look at the comments from the actual day of his announcement you would see that there are A LOT and that the majority of them are strikingly positive. The fact that there were so few comments on this particular article simply means that not that many people bother to listen to the entire podcasts which isn’t surprising considering most fans probably know everything they’re talking about anyhow. Of course, I enjoy listening to them ramble because I totally relate to them in their Pumpkin Uber-geekdom.

You’re entitled to you own opinion and I don’t agree with Ginger that you “are no pumpkins fan.” You can be a fan without loving everything they do. I do however think you should use a tad more common sense when judging the feelings of the HU and SP community so publicly.

I am entirely excited about the upcoming song and Oceania. I believe there is a lot of false speculation that it is all about his new lady because of the title. If being a pumpkins fan since 89 has taught you or me anything, it should be that Billy’s subject matter is most often not straight forward and easily guessed.

13. JCelsius - 10:07 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

*or easily guessed

14. exclaimed - 10:39 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

“California, what have you done to me? Chicago, here I come” is the lyric, by the way.

15. exclaimed - 10:50 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

I really think Billy realizes that he has to knock Oceania out of the park quality-wise.

16. Dylan - 11:40 pm // Saturday, April 30, 2011

As much as I loathe the current state of the band, this is the wrong time to be bitching about things. Bill is clearly excited and motivated at the moment. He better be able to get some of this stuff off the ground.

17. Rasheed - 4:34 am // Sunday, May 1, 2011

@JENN You don’t like the fact that Billy is actually happy with his life for once? WTF? You probably like sad music because you’re a sad excuse for a human being.

@KingChris why would they help with the reissues? They could barely even help with the originals.

18. arpeggi - 4:46 am // Sunday, May 1, 2011

Pumpkin Uber-geekdom rules :)
Excitied even if just few completely unheard songs would come out this Christmas!
That won’t be the case I guess, but it’s really a great time to have some pumpking-geek faith

and I feel almost same excitement for owata and oceania, even if I’m sure I will be disappointed like for the past tbk tracks.. but that’s it

(Thank for the podcast!)

19. Misery - 6:02 am // Sunday, May 1, 2011

@arpeggi
You were disappointed by ALL of the Teargarden songs?
…Tom Tom, Lightning Strikes, Freak & Stitch In Time are really good.
The only one I still don’t like is Spangled.

20. KingChris - 3:58 pm // Sunday, May 1, 2011

@gyang333 & @Rasheed:

Oh the love!

On a serious note Oceania is going to be incredible with As Rome Burns, My Love Is Winter, Lonely Is The Name, & When The Cocks Crow. It will be a rocker!

21. Johnny - 4:16 pm // Sunday, May 1, 2011

Where are people getting these tracklistings for Oceania? As far as I can tell, Billy hasn’t put out any official statments saying any of the songs mentioned are going to be included. I mean, trust me, As Rome Burns would be just what the doctor ordered–an angrier song would really add to the “Classic Pumpkins vibe, as would My Love Is Winter, which compares nicely to a lot of SP1 material. But I haven’t seen anything myself (except from the never-failing Wikipedia article). Unless we’re just speculating :) In which case…
-As Rome Burns
-My Love Is Winter
-Gossamer
-Quasar
-a very techno version of Lonely is the Name
-and Owata

Oh wait :)

22. Johnny - 4:22 pm // Sunday, May 1, 2011

Actually, I really enjoy Caroline, Yes too. I think Teargarden has almost enough of that type of slower song for now, but if I could swap Spangled for Caroline, I certainly would.

23. rapapapa - 4:43 pm // Sunday, May 1, 2011

yes, Caroline, Yes is a good song. Better than Spangled without a doubt. love the guitar part which is played by Kevin Dippold

24. Just_Erick - 9:55 pm // Sunday, May 1, 2011

I think Dylan totally put it the best, I too dislike certain aspects of the current band (and model) but right now is not a time to be negative. It really seems like Billy wants to hit Oceania out of the park. If he pulls it off it will greatly re-direct the direction of TGK, quality wise and artistically.

I am probably in the minority here but I kinda hope the Oceania songs wont be any that we know about. Maybe a song or two but I really hope its all new stuff we have yet to hear. And to be honest I believe it will be… As good as some songs are, i.e… “my love is winter”, if I knew they would be on the album it wouldn’t excite me or surprise me as much. This is Billy’s chance to change TGK’s sound with something new. Almost like a re-introduction to the concept.

25. Graves - 3:33 am // Monday, May 2, 2011

I think/ hope Oceania will be mainly new songs as well. Seeing that pic the band posted a while back of that fuzz pedal gives me hope.

26. Jonk - 5:06 am // Monday, May 2, 2011

Jenn- you’re in for a treat with the rereleases. Sorry that you’re not happy with the new material.
Although, I do think the album will serve him much better than the single song approach.

27. Josh0 - 2:12 pm // Monday, May 2, 2011

From what Billy has said, it sounds to me like the songs on Oceania are supposed to be counted towards the 44 TBK songs. As if Billy realized that TBK was running desperately behind his own timeline of 3 years, and this was a way to play catch-up.

But if TBK is supposed to be free… that raises more questions.

28. redmond - 8:59 pm // Monday, May 2, 2011

*yawn*

Boring. New material, reissues, twitter nonsense, who cares.

29. arpeggi - 2:40 am // Tuesday, May 3, 2011

@Misery actually I’m not disappointed by the songs.. I loved zen baby, the spirits in the sky tour songs etc.etc.. I just don’t like (the way he recorded them in the studio. They don’t say anything to me. A letdown in that sense

30. axelease - 8:09 am // Tuesday, May 3, 2011
31. arbitraryhandle - 8:28 am // Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Owata is not what I was expecting as I liked the more bass heavy intro of recent live electric versions….but sounds great! Recalls ‘Stitch in Time’ but in a full band setting, and helps to tie back into the earlier songs sonically.

32. arpeggi - 8:52 am // Tuesday, May 3, 2011

..see once again, this sucks

33. Duy - 1:40 pm // Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Owata was best as an electric version during the last tour.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

