jump to navigation

Pumpkins’ former employee: We found “Siamese Dream” girls in ’07 1:34 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

Posted by jjb in amusing, billy corgan, news, siamese dream, smashingpumpkins.com.
trackback

Paul Friemel, who operated SmashingPumpkins.com between 2007 and 2009, has given HU this statement and amusing image:

A week or so ago a bunch of friends were informing me that Billy Corgan had tweeted that the new SP bassist was on the cover of ‘Siamese Dream’ and I thought that’s odd because I didn’t remember either girl’s name being Nicole and shouldn’t Billy already know that?  I decided to dig through some very old files and found the identity of each girl whom I had spoken with a few years ago while working on a story for smashingpumpkins.com.  In fact, I had to work out free tickets & passes for Ali, the girl on the right, to meet Billy during a show in 2008 and confirmed with him and the tour manager at the time.  So apparently it was just a publicity stunt or joke that the press ran away with.

A July 13, 2007 posting to SmashingPumpkins.com (no longer publicly available) read:

NEED HELP!  Looking for girls from Siamese Dream album cover
There’s no one better to ask than the super fans themselves!  We are trying to locate the girls that adorn the cover of Siamese Dream.  As you all know, they were quite young when the photo was taken.  They are not conjoined anymore, as far as we know. Any one with info on this, please spread the word and send me a private message to PumpkinsMediaMilitia [Friemel's pseudonym].

Friemel provided HU with the names of both Siamese Dream cover models on Tuesday.  One of the names was Ali Laenger — the same name given by TMZ.com in a Wednesday report that featured a recent photograph of Laenger with Corgan.

A week or so ago a bunch of friends were informing me that Billy Corgan had tweeted that the new SP bassist was on the cover of ‘Siamese Dream’ and I thought that’s odd because I didn’t remember either girl’s name being Nicole and shouldn’t Billy already know that?  I decided to dig through some very old files and found the identity of each girl whom I had spoken with a few years ago while working on a story for smashingpumpkins.com.  In fact, I had to work out free tickets & passes for Ali, the girl on the right, to meet Billy during a show in 2008 and confirmed with him and the tour manager at the time.  So apparently it was just a publicity stunt or joke that the press ran away with.

Comments

1. apm - 1:43 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

Lysandra? Dibs on the name for my future daughter.

2. mknudy - 1:49 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

dude, just put some new songs out.

3. Floppy Nono - 2:30 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

did the article PMM was working on ever happen with these girls? if so, what was the point of it, just a follow up on their lives or something?

4. Flappy Yesyes - 3:16 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

“So apparently it was just a publicity stunt or joke that the press ran away with.”

Well no shit?!

I agree with mknudy, put some new music out.

5. Drevpile - 4:05 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

lol Paul.

6. Acknowledge - 4:59 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

Is this just to get back at Billy for saying he’s not creative? “Oh no you didnt! Well let me ruin your joke! HA!” This comes off as vindictive and awkward, the way you cough at the guy who explains the joke that was pretty obvious to start off with.

7. Sunky - 5:03 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

@Floppy – it never happened, can’t remember why. It was going to be just a short interview about them, their lives and what it was like to be on such an iconic album cover etc.

I guess how there have been many Spencer Elden (Nevermind) interviews, but never with these girls.

8. Drevpile - 5:16 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

I [suspect] Acknowledge, that if Paul did ever choose to be vindictive, he has a whole lot more in the locker than this…

9. Justice - 5:31 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

return the slab or suffer my curse..

what’s your offer!?

10. David - 6:27 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

I figured it was a weird joke/publicity stunt. As for putting out new songs, those comments are probably better directed to SP and not HU. Although if you go to the Facebook page, Billy just posted they were working on two new songs with all the band members contributing.

11. J - 6:30 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

Siamese Dream , SP Masterpiece, really digged it Geek USA my favourite lol.

12. J - 6:33 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

mmmm reunion ahead? mmm Zeitgeist ?
I better be quiet now.

13. snowtrooper - 6:37 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

stop it.

14. Floppy Nono - 7:56 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

thanks for answering sunky! :)

15. hmm - 10:33 pm // Thursday, February 24, 2011

Did I miss something? What is the name of the girl on the left?

16. David - 12:03 am // Friday, February 25, 2011

@ hmm I wondered that too until I clicked on the image. If you click on it, it has stickies that say Lysandra R(the rest of her last name is blurred out) and Ali Laenger.

17. hmm - 1:47 am // Friday, February 25, 2011

Thanks. I think this is Lysandra R:
(SAFE FOR WORK)
www dot modelmayhem dot com slash 148160

The age seems accurate (26 now, around 8 at the time of the 1993 photo). She is a model just like Ali Laenger is now.

18. Just_Erick - 3:04 am // Friday, February 25, 2011

Uhh I thought we knew it was fake, but more importantly, I find that picture incredible annoying for some reason. That guy has a punchable face.

19. jjb - 9:30 am // Friday, February 25, 2011

@hmm: Trust me, that is not her.
@Just_Erick: We certainly did know that Nicole was not on the cover; this story is not about establishing that.

20. Ye olde PMM - 10:13 am // Friday, February 25, 2011

Punch me all you want. Some good has come of this though, apparently Lysandra is looking for some headshots from that period of her life and we may get some sort of Siamese Dream behind the scenes out of it!!! Yay!

21. apm - 12:16 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011

Hey Paul, was Billy’s plan all along just to connect with the Siamese girls privately or was there a plan to do an article or something on them for the website? If the latter, were they not interested in the publicity or was it one of those things Billy lost interest in post-announcement?

22. Ye olde PMM - 12:42 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011

I cannot even begin to claim I know what Billy’s plans are, were, or will be. Sorry!

23. Just_Erick - 4:17 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011

@jjb, I thought It was reported over and over and over that It wasn’t Nicole and it was just a hoax? I mean that slight possibility was there but for the most part didn’t we all know that it wasn’t true?

24. jjb - 6:15 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011

@J_E. Try reading my comment again

25. jjb - 6:23 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011

I can’t believe this site keeps calling him “William Corgan”

26. MP - 7:02 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011

Next week we will find out that the chicken didnt actualy cross the road

27. geek_xyu - 7:06 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011
28. D - 8:53 pm // Friday, February 25, 2011

good detective work geek_xyu!

29. Travis - 2:32 am // Saturday, February 26, 2011

I thought it was pretty obvious that the entire stunt was just jealous Billy trying to steal a little bit of Radiohead’s internet thunder.

30. Rasheed - 4:09 am // Saturday, February 26, 2011

Pretty funny travis. if you want a real laugh, try watching the video for ‘Lotus Flower’.

not sure how anybody could be jealous of that shit

31. Floppy Nono - 4:33 am // Saturday, February 26, 2011

at least people are listen to and watching it LOL

32. Travis - 10:52 am // Saturday, February 26, 2011

Rasheed, I wasn’t commenting on the quality of anything Radiohead has released (though incidentally I happen to like their new album), but you know it must really steam Billy’s clams that they can generate such a huge surge of fan and critical interest with just a tweet or two, while Billy has “reinvented the game,” and, I think, has received diminishing returns for the TbK project.

33. Just_Erick - 3:17 pm // Saturday, February 26, 2011

@jjb, totally did and misread it, my mistake.

34. Rasheed - 3:53 am // Sunday, February 27, 2011

Thats right floppy, people love to watch car crashes.

@travis i’m not sure about this “huge” fan/critic interest you’re talking about. I’m seeing mixed reviews at best.

35. Cynde Knutson - 1:02 am // Saturday, April 9, 2011

My son went to school with Lysandra and I remember when she posed for the photo. Her parents were pastors in Hollywood CA at the time the photo was taken. They home -schooled and our kids went to campus days twice a month. I have a photo of her at the time.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

