jump to navigation

ch6/the story of Machina (so what could I do but try to finish) 3:05 am // Friday, September 12, 2008

Posted by jjb in amusing, billy corgan, business, interview, machina, smashingpumpkins.com.
trackback

SmashingPumpkins.com writer Supervajra, in a third piece on the Machina band-imitates-band concept, elicits this reminiscence from Billy Corgan:

When the re-formed band agreed to the concept in october of 1998 as a way to bring the band to a close, everyone agreed to “play their part’ all the way down the line. I never envisioned that D’arcy would leave in April of ’99, and that subsequently the 3 of us would try to finish. This put a stress obviously on the full integrity of the project. Because it was connected to the band not only bringing the music to fruition fully, but also the public component of being in character. I ended up in a broken band with a half-ass enthusiasm towards finishing a project already started…

Being bullheaded I pushed on, underestimating the strain it put on me to try to finish something I was no longer sure of. The songs were all written TO the concept, so what could I do but try to finish. I almost abandoned the entire project half-way thru. It took every fibre of my being to just not quit then and there in the middle of it. Jimmy wasn’t in the best state and James was, well, being James. The only reason I finished it was because I wanted off what had by then become a horrible label. And before anyone cries sell out + $, know that if I had disbanded the group then I would have gotten all the $ on the record and or shelved it and done whatever I wanted to instead music wise. I was the only person who could be held to the deal. James and Jimmy would have walked away free as birds, not only of the group but the contract as well. It was the last record of the deal, and that played into how it all went down.

If that just isn’t enough Machina mystery for you, the Internets will soon yield up Nick Kushner’s “Machina, Alchemy & The Occult”, an encyclopedic, novel-length mini-site currently in production”. Teaser material for the site can be seen here and here.

After the jump: Our speculative dramatization of an under-his-breath wisecrack that could have gotten James in trouble for, well, being James. [WARNING: Dramatization may be in LOLGATMOG form. I blame Jill...]

Comments

1. slunken - 9:43 am // Friday, September 12, 2008

BUT MAYBE D’ARCY QUITTING WAS ALL A PART OF IT?!?

2. deathrockduck - 10:37 am // Friday, September 12, 2008

As much as I hate to admit to it, by my pal Nick and I used to get high and drive around listening to Machina and talk about all of the crazy theory and internet craziness. So as much as I hated the O-boards, I’d still find myself reading them occasionally just to witness some sort of excitement. Because really, the kids that got really absorbed in that world will never forget that album. So in some regards, Machina was a success. It might not be the kind of success that you really feel proud about, but hey! A win is a win.

I personally love the record, but I love it because of the life I was living at the time of it’s release, not because of insane ramblings invoking alchemy and metaphysics. I also would always skip GATGC, as it just bores me to tears, so maybe that made it easier to ignore the ridiculousness of it.

Still, it was a perfect game of distraction and misdirection, as without all the simile and metaphor via artistic aesthetic, the lyrics plainly stated that this was going to be the last album. “This Time” pretty much seals that, as it reads like a letter to the fans. Hell, even “Age Of Innocence” seemed to imply a catharsis, letting go, and the relative hope and excitement about a new future.

rC: to Roller

3. deathrockduck - 10:39 am // Friday, September 12, 2008

Oh and I should probably admit that regardless of all this, the announcement of the band breaking up still came as a bit of a shock.

rc: normal roses

4. jillysp - 2:10 pm // Friday, September 12, 2008

Oh, Jason.

…”You know what they say: “If you aim for the “By Starlight,” at least you’ll end up “Dancing in the Moonlight”.”

5. jjb - 2:13 pm // Friday, September 12, 2008

There but for the machines of God go I.

(reCAPTCHA: “war arrested”)

6. Rat In A Cage - 2:26 pm // Friday, September 12, 2008

I have to admit that I just use to get high, period. And it was always fun….


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

